Quantcast
Primer on finishing on stones? (As opposed to paper)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primer on finishing on stones? (As opposed to paper)

Primer on finishing on stones? (As opposed to paper)

I've been finishing my knives progressing through grits on paper. 120, 220, 320, 400. It gets me a good finish, but I still love the look of those hazy finished found on yanagis, etc.

I don't know anything about that approach.

Where do I begin?
    What should I be aware of?
    What's the technique? Same with paper? Knife on stone, or stone on knife?
    Slurries, naturals, synthetics, fingerstones, compounds...
    Advantages/disadvantages vs paper? Time, cost, etc.

Please do note that I am completely new to this idea. I've only pretty much made knives the western way, keeping everything simple and straight-forward. Thanks!

EDIT: This is wayyy down the road, but I've certainly seen some incredible contrasts between higane/jigane; is the process for bringing out a hamon similar (without etching).

The alleles created by mutation may be beneficial

Are you talking about making a faux kasumi finish on a monosteel knife? You might want to look at this: http://www.suisin.co.jp/toku02/2009-01/index.htm

It is all about the natural stones.

Quote Originally Posted by GlassEye View Post
    It is all about the natural stones.
    nah, it's all about the King 800

Quote Originally Posted by Andrew H View Post
    Are you talking about making a faux kasumi finish on a monosteel knife? You might want to look at this: http://www.suisin.co.jp/toku02/2009-01/index.htm
    Do you mean kasumi as in that haze finish (I'm not so familiar with the terms)? What makes it a faux kasumi vs a normal one?

nah, it's about natural stoned!
    Spike C
    "The Buddha resides as comfortably in the circuits of a digital computer or the gears of a cycle transmission as he does at the top of a mountain."
    Pirsig

The alleles created by mutation may be beneficial