Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Carpenter XHP?

Carpenter XHP?

Anyone had any experience with this steel? I've been checking out some of Butch's work recently and I'm sorely tempted to indulge. Seems like he's using CPM154 and XHP for his stainless options, and while I know CPM154 has a pretty good reputation, I haven't heard anything about XHP.

Cheers,
    Josh

If I had the choice I would go cts xhp. I've been bugging Dave to make some knives out of it.

Quote Originally Posted by obtuse View Post
    If I had the choice I would go cts xhp...
    Why?

I've had my XHP nakiri from Butch for four months now. It gets used every day and I'm STILL waiting for an excuse to take it to the stones. Just an occasional stropping and it continues to be way sharper than a kitchen knife needs to be...tree tops arm hair, push cuts receipt paper with complete ease, etc. Admittedly, I'm just a humble home cook, but I've never seen a knife with better edge holding capability.

Given a choice, I'd go with the XHP in a heartbeat.

Quote Originally Posted by Chifunda View Post
    I've had my XHP nakiri from Butch for four months now. It gets used every day and I'm STILL waiting for an excuse to take it to the stones. Just an occasional stropping and it continues to be way sharper than a kitchen knife needs to be...tree tops arm hair, push cuts receipt paper with complete ease, etc. Admittedly, I'm just a humble home cook, but I've never seen a knife with better edge holding capability.

Given a choice, I'd go with the XHP in a heartbeat.
    What flavors of cpm-154 do you have to compare it to?

The alleles created by mutation may be beneficial

I haven't tried cpm154 but I really like Butch's XHP. Feels pretty nice on the stones, okay to deburr and good sharpness (not carbon, of course).

Quote Originally Posted by tk59 View Post
    What flavors of cpm-154 do you have to compare it to?
    None. You got me.