Quantcast
Opened up a kitchenaid K5-A - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Opened up a kitchenaid K5-A

  1. #11
    To rephrase. Can someone please take a picture of this area, behind the back cover. I don't know how to reinstall the hex nut and the black metal plate.


  2. #12

    Partial Answer For Ryeno

    Ryeno, I have the same problem. I do know where the hex nut goes. See photos attached. I have no idea where the little black clip goes, however, and if I can figure that out I'll have a working mixer. Have you figured out where that clip goes? It is crucial to have that clip in place to control the speed. Without it the mixer runs just fine, but it starts at at about speed four or five and it's not possible to get the lower speeds. Thanks.

    The hex nut goes on the backside of this screw (see red arrow):



    Here's a side view - the red arrow points to the hex nut:



    This is the piece I can't figure out where to place:


  3. #13
    daveb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Just outside Tampa
    Posts
    1,150
    These may help.

    My back end. Nut plate is on center shaft of mixer - not behind the bottom screw. Chopstick in last pic is to provide direction.
    Attached Images Attached Images     
    Dave
    Older and wider.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Miles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Deep in the heart of a Texas kitchen
    Posts
    521
    What an awesome community! Absolutely nothing out of bounds here. No matter what you're up to, no one seems to bat an eye. More importantly, someone always seems to have some help to offer when you get stuck. Love it!
    BTW, I have a "dead" Pro600 sitting on my bench waiting for it's turn. I have a pretty good idea of how to get it sorted, just haven't bothered to dig in yet. Since I have one that's working, I guess the motivation hasn't quite hit yet.

  5. #15

    ecchef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    In the Village.
    Posts
    3,350
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	131777-3.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	43.3 KB 
ID:	20429
    Though I could not caution all I still might warn a few; Don't raise your hand to raise no flag atop no ship of fools. - Robert Hunter

  6. #16

    I really could use some help here.....

    Good Morning, I registered to this forum because I really screwed up

    Back in 2005, I inherited my Grandmother's Kitchenaid K5-a that she bought new in late 60's (Certified Pastry Chef)

    well, I used it many time over the last few years, and the last 6 times I used it... the motor casing was getting hot.

    I'm pretty resourceful and have a pretty fair mechanical ability. (If you can replace internal parts in an iPhone, you got it made)

    so, I sent the K5-a to the workbench (aka kitchen table) and tore into it.

    Kept my screws/parts separated and photographed with iPhone above.
    Moved everything to the workbench in garage..... Researched and ordered the parts needed. Stator/drive, Motor Field, brushes, new grounded power cord.

    Then my little old world fell apart

    Was hospitalized with Pancreatitis for several days, and in the meantime "someone" messed with my workbench. (I won't point fingers...I'm some dumb, not plumb dumb)

    Grandma's K5-a got placed on the back burner.... Since then, I've compared my pics with the parts and all is good.

    The trouble I have is the new parts have to be retrofitted

    I really need to find schematics for this thing, it's an older model (better model) than what's being offered out there, along with it being Grandma's.... I gotta get this thing going and back to baking bread.

    If the parts had been a direct replacement.... the stator motor cooling fan would have been same size, the wires of the motor field would have clipped right back onto the brush holders. and numerous other differences.
    I did notice the new parts were shipped in boxes that said Genuine Whirlpool Parts. Good or bad, I cannot say.

    And too, when I popped off the back cover I had the little black clip bounce onto the table. (never seeing where it came from)

    I've watched several youtube videos showing how to calibrate motor speed, and change grease, etc.... but, the retrofitting is hampering my reassembly.

    Any help or guidance would sure be appreciated!

    Thanks,
    Brian

    Edit: reviewing post #12, I'm guessing the little black clip is some sort of shim/bearing for the stator drive/governor.... I'll look more closely when I get home.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    348

  8. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by WarrenB View Post
    Oh My Gosh! that's the best manual I've found to date!

    I've collected several over the last few days, and this one will get me up and running..... now, I've gotta work on getting the old grease out, and cleaned up

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    348
    Quote Originally Posted by milkmania View Post
    Oh My Gosh! that's the best manual I've found to date!

    I've collected several over the last few days, and this one will get me up and running..... now, I've gotta work on getting the old grease out, and cleaned up
    Good luck with it, let us know how you get on

  10. #20
    Gotta make Grandma proud!!!!
    Used her mixer for everything from meatloaf, bread, cakes, and my Bacon Explosion





    my stupid phone loudspeaker screw

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •