What knife set to buy...?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rxfoote

Reaction score
I'm sure everyone gets tired of this, but I have spent the last couple of weeks reading reviews, visiting local stores, checking out knife sets and really can't decide on what to get.

I am by no means a Professional Chef, but love to cook and would like to purchase a nice knife set. I haven't really decided on a budget and am more concerned about making a good decision.

I like the idea of Shun, Global, and Mac but too be honest am concerned that being a hack will damage/chip the blades. I have tried Wusthof knifes and like them. I understand the differences, and wonder if due to my inexperience I might be better off with a German knife? Lastly, I have a friend that owns a set of Gunter Wilhelm knives and absolutely swears by them. Any thoughts on these knifes? I'm also not set on buying an actual set and like the idea of piecing together specifically what I need.

Thanks in advance!

No idea on the Gunter Wilhelm knives.

Are u sold on a set? rather than just getting some great knives that fit your needs and uses?

Dont be scared off about reviews where japanese knives chip etc. They are vasty superior, pretty durable, and just plain better overall. 3-4 great knives will be pretty much what u need.

Welcome to KKF!

You will likely get a number of replies that will mention specific brands, and others trying to dissuade you from buying a set of knives. Rather than that, I'd like to suggest that you buy and read Chad Ward's book, An Edge in the Kitchen: The Ultimate Guide to Kitchen Knives -- How to Buy Them, Keep Them Razor Sharp, and Use Them Like a Pro. It will give you an excellent grounding in what knives you actually need. It's available at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0061188484/?tag=skimlinks_replacement-20.

Rick