Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Collecting kitchen knives as a hobby

Collecting kitchen knives as a hobby

I had a couple of friends over for dinner last night and the husband knew that I collected kitchen knives. After dragging out a few to show him he asked me how much I had invested in these knives. I told him that I thought it was probably less than 10K. He asked me how I could spend 10K on knives and I said that it was my hobby. Now this guy's hobby is an airplane so he was satisfied with my answer.

I did a quick survey of my knives today and the investment is less than 10K, but not by much. I've been collecting knives for about 25 years so, on average, that works out to be around $400 a year. I spent way more than that on fishing trips (another hobby) during that time and thought nothing of it.

My point is that, as hobbies go, collecting kitchen knives isn't that expensive. I know that everything is relative but if you can afford it then "It's my hobby" is a good enough justification for a new knife.
    It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.

10k over 25 years seems like a bargain to me,especially for such a great hobby.
    Collecting watches,wine, cars,now those are expensive hobbies...even still you don't have to justify it to anybody,just enjoy!

Are you seeking support to deflect the incredulous looks from your spouse when you get another knife? It won't work--she will still think this is crazy

Quote Originally Posted by pitonboy View Post
    Are you seeking support to deflect the incredulous looks from your spouse when you get another knife? It won't work--she will still think this is crazy
    No spouse, no problem.
    It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.

Quote Originally Posted by pitonboy View Post