Thread: Yet another "What knife should I buy" thread

Yet another "What knife should I buy" thread

So I have been making chicken gallantine for friends the last few dinner I've hosted and I realize that I need a Deboning knife....can I get some advice on a good HONESUKI. I am not fixed on size, steel, handle etc. I'd love to hear what members have and if they like it. Thanks.

How much you got?
    Starting this harvest I'm a starving startling artist/
    Lyrical arsonist it's arduous spitting this smartest arsenic/

Not sure it's a boning knife, but I have seen a knife that I believe Spike makes as something that would do the job...not sure what it's called, but it looks wicked! Tried to find a shot/link of it, but no luck...
    once in a while you get shown the light, in the strangest of places if you look at it right

I believe Spike called it the pettysuki or something like that, but the site's search feature is failing me.

I have owned both a traditional single bevel Watanabe Honesuki and a double bevel multi-purpose Zakuri boning knife (both around 150mm) and I've used probably a half dozen different sizes and shapes of knives to do the job. I was not very impressed with the grind work work on the Watanabe, but really liked the traditional, very angular shape. The Zakuri, I felt was a great bargain for the quality of construction and steel and a very robust blade, but not as surgically precise as some others.