Sorry...another "what would you recommend" thread

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VanIsleSteve

Reaction score
So I need some advice, I am a novice at home cook that has been using some pos department store knives for as long as I have been cooking and have come to the conclusion that I will not settle any more. Time to upgrade. I will answer the questions that I know the answers to

What type of knife(s) do you think you want? Not sure

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing? Need to upgrade from a cheap henkle and even cheaper santoku

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already? Like the feel of the santoku, not sure why, just do

What grip do you use? No idea

Where do you store them? Drawer in plastic sleeve

Have you ever oiled a handle? No

What kind of cutting board(s) do you use? Plastic

For edge maintenance, do you use a strop, honing rod, pull through/other, or nothing? Pull through, but would like a stone

Have they ever been sharpened? yes

What is your budget? 150 stone included, if possible

What do you cook and how often? Little bit of everything, most nights

Please let it be known that I live in Canada and duties/taxes can be murder. Thanks in advance

Welcome! There are many knowledgeable Canadians here who I am sure will chime in with what/where to purchase. Good luck in your quest and be sure to check out the b/s/t section once you have a better idea what you would like.

Welcome to the forum.

No need to be sorry about asking for advice on knife.

You might get more helpful answers if you provide more information about your knifes. You note that they are pos. Is there anything specific you don't like about them? They never stay sharp, they wedge in food, etc....