Moritaka Gyutou versus Masakage Koishi AS

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jonhaber

Reaction score
Looking for some input on these two knives.

Checked out the masakage today in a shop and it was very nice but at $300 is a bit pricey (I am a student / home cook).
35gyuto210-big.jpg

http://www.knifewear.com/knife-family.asp?family=35

also looked at the Masakage Mizu but the handle seemed a bit cheap :(
http://www.knifewear.com/knife-family.asp?family=19

the moritaka @ $130 is less than half the price
Knives_Moritaka_EG-210_Gyutou_210mmKnives_Moritaka_EG-210_Gyutou_210mm-S%2526S__55474.1324502743.1280.1280.jpg

http://www.sliceandsear.com/moritaka-gyutou-chef-knife-8-3-210mm/

can any one help inform my choice? i read about some qc control issues with the moritaka but those were very old posts

thanks a lot!

Apples and oranges. The Masakage Koishi you reference in the link is Aogami Super clad in stainless. The Moritaka is Aogami #2 clad in soft iron. They really are not comparable knives.

Remember, you likely get what you pay for.

As far as issues with Moritakas, if you know what you are looking for and can inspect the knife and ensure it is a good one, they are pretty decent knives.

Rick

I'm sorry to say the overgrind issues with the Moritakas haven't yet been responded adequately, still occur, and are hard to detect visually.

fair enough, then I guess I should really be asking how the mizu and the moritaka compare. I liked the mizu accept for the plastic collar, felt cheap.

I'm sorry to say the overgrind issues with the Moritakas haven't yet been responded adequately, still occur, and are hard to detect visually.

could this be resolved by a knife sharpener with a grinding stone?

could this be resolved by a knife sharpener with a grinding stone?