Quantcast
Moving out from parents, need new knives
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Moving out from parents, need new knives

Moving out from parents, need new knives

My and my wife are still young (under 30s) and we bought a new house to finally move out of my parents house, and of course this means we have to invest in everything including knives

I had my eye on Tojiro DP series, wanted a 8'' chef, pairing knife, utility knife and a bread slicer sometime after if I like the knives.
    However I just recently found this forum and quick search came up with lots of replies about quality of the knife going gown and that they're prone to chipping, this worries me a bit.
    Looking at online retailer, the 3pc set is $140 which I think is great price, but if I have to watch out how I cut, to not chip the the knife on chicken bone, I'd rather bump the budget up to a $300 and get a better quality.
    I'm new to cooking, I love it, but as you can imagine I can't stretch my wing in my fathers kitchen
    I'd prefer western handle, stainless steel or anything that wouldn't make me worry about rusting.
    My father has 8'' Wusthof Classic Slicer that I enjoy cutting with, no proper Chef knife in this kitchen
    Could use some help.

Congrats on the new house and welcome to the forum!

So let's get this started. A few more questions first - do you know how to sharpen? what kind of cutting motion do you use(push cut, rock, chop)? what kind of cutting board do you have?

Thank you,

I have never sharpened a knife in my life, nor do I know how to cut properly.
    I recently started getting more into cooking and cutting, and I moved from pointing grip to a pinch grip, it actually feels pretty comfortable and I think I have more control with pinch grip.
    No cutting board either, will have to invest in one after we move.

welcome!
    I haven't lived the life I wanted, just the lives I needed too at the time.

Welcome and congrats on the new house!