tojiro dp vs yaxell ran

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blackice

Reaction score
hi i'm an italian chef and i would buy a japan knife (gyuto 25-27 cm). At work i try different brands (global, misono, yaxell), I think yaxell will be a good knife for me, misono is better but too much expensive. Yaxell is a good knife with a vg 10 core and 25,5 cm is a good size but reading many treads a lot of chefs talking very well about tojiro dp, so i don't know if is better yaxell or tojiro. Both have vg 10, but i never try tojiro dp. My budget is 130-150 dollars. my question is: yaxell or tojiro? are there other brand with this price? where i can buy this knife? where i work there is'nt knife shop so i buy online. thank for your help and sorry for my grammatical mistakes

yaxell is very similar to shun. not good value for what you get.

I would spend the money on Carbonext or Suisin western like other recommended :)

As someone that owns a Tojiro DP, I would recommend against it. Based on the feedback of everyone else, and likely my next step up, I'd say you're better off with the CarboNext.

realy :) well finally i found my knife :)...but differents with http://japanesechefsknife.com/KAGAYAKIVG-10.html ?
I have that knife. A friend of mine gave it to me because he hated it. It looks cheap. I told him I wanted it because I'm not into "pretty," just performance. I have to say, while it's decent for the price, I would rather use a cheapie with relatively poor steel like a Fujiwara. Those are nice to use, easy to sharpen and don't look and feel like crap. There are those that like it. Hopefully, you're one of them.

i'm a bit confuse...is better carbon or vg-10?Why vg-10 knife is most expensive if carbon has better performance?