Matsutake Mushrooms - Recipes? What to do?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Burl Source

Weird Wood Pusher
Reaction score
The season for Matsutakes is just starting here in Southern Oregon.
You can tell when the season starts because the buyers show up with their shipping containers next to the grocery store.
The way you can tell the season is good is after dark the grocery store fills up with strangers speaking a foreign language (not Spanish).

I was thinking about taking a day off and heading for the hills.
Not looking to pick mushrooms to sell, but was thinking about getting some for my own use.
I have never used Matsutakes before, but since they can be pretty expensive I thought they might be good.

If anyone has any recipes or suggestions I would like to hear them.

Thanks, Mark

BTW
Time for the Chantrelles too.

matsutakes are good. I live in WA and went mushroom picking on the olympic peninsula a few years back. It was apparently a good year for matsutakes, I came back with about 15 pounds.

most mushrooms are on the milder-flavored side...not so with matsutakes. Also called the pine mushroom, their flavor does kind of remind me of the aroma of pine trees/sap. They tend to dominate any dish they are used in. If you end up not liking them, you'll have a hard time 'burying' them in a dish. I liked simple preparations the best: a soup of matsutakes and not much else poached in a light broth, sliced thin and broiled, fried in a light batter. I rolled some up in phyllo and baked (cook the mushrooms first), that was pretty good. But if you mix them up with other strong flavors, it can really be a mess. I really enjoyed them, but even so, 15 pounds in a 2-person household was a little more than I needed.