What do you look for in a suji? (home cook)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

numatech

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this new (new to me at least) forum. I used to visit the old in the kitchen forum all the time but rarely posted, so I'm quite out of date I know.

I'm looking to buy my first sujihiki, and have read all the posts about them that I could find. I'm sure I've missed some so I apologize if this has been discussed at length.

What features to you look for in a suji that will be used as a dedicated slicer?

I know some people who use them professionally use them as their go to knives, and I can understand that those have much different requirements. But for someone who's a home cook, going to use the suji on only soft things, what would be your preferences?

Steel
Length
Depth (I guess I mean knuckle clearance)
Width
Handle style, and size
Blade Profile
Flexibility
Laminated or Honyaki?

Those seem to be the things I've seen talked about, and there seems to be a lot of talk with flexibility. For someone who hasn't had a suji, my original thought was that I'd want a really thin blade, but I seem to have overlooked something in that aspect.

Ultimately I'm looking for advice that will help me find one to buy, but I thought maybe a slightly different approach to the question would be interesting. So for now although I'd love suggestions for any specific knives too, I'm mainly curious of people opinions as to what things make a good suji good.

Thanks!!! Sean