newb looking for sharpening stone advice

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Feuros

Reaction score
Hello all! This is my first post here, but I've been reading for a few weeks.
After reading a ton of posts, I decided to take the plunge and order my first "good" kitchen knives. I decided to start with a 150mm petty and a 240mm gyuto, both Carbonexts.
I'm not a professional, but I cook at home daily and after complaining how dull my knives were 2 days after sharpening I decided I needed something better. The carbonext seemed like one of the best bang-for-the-buck choices for a beginner.

Now, I realize that half of my problem is my old, crappy knives (a couple Henkles with one man and some god knows whats) but the other half is my total lack of sharpening knowledge.

With my knives due to arrive this week, I realize I'm going to need to get some proper sharpening gear before too long.
I've tried doing some reading here to figure out what to get, but the options are a little overwhelming.

I'm leaning a little towards a King 1000/6000 combo stone, but I'd like to hear some advice on other or better options.
I don't mind spending a little more or going with a multiple stone setup. I'm assuming these things will last for years, so I'd just as soon pay a bit more up front and not have to buy something else a year down the road.

Also, if anyone can point me towards some good resources on learning proper sharpening technique, that would also be very helpful.
Also, can someone explain the use of magic marker?

Thanks for any help!