Hi, Nzer number 3

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shaneg

Reaction score
Hey, been trawling this place for a few weeks, and thought id say hello, i see there are 2 other people from nz here already.

Im a chef and have worked in numerous restaurants, hotel/resorts.
Started in 2000, mostly used Wusthofs at the start until i bought a Global gf33 in 02 and have been mainly into j knives, usually mid to low range quality as i just sharpened until it was useless then binned them, been through quite a few brands that way, German and J.
Most chefs ive worked with have had pretty mediocre knowledge regarding knives considering they are in our hands 95% of our day.

Currently im sous of one of the top ten restaurants in the city, its a Thai restaurant 65 seater, but do around 160-200 a night, very busy so lots of fine julienne ginger, chilli, lemongrass and kaffir lime leaf (hair thin), so a really sharp knife is key, kai wasabi santoku is my beater knife, not a flash knife but gets wicked sharp, along with my zwilling Chinese cleaver, gave my shun chef knife away to a junior as his got stolen from his car plus i wasnt a fan as i found it had no feeling/feedback when cutting. We use the kiwis knives for a bit of fun sometimes.

Im waiting on a konosuke 210 gyuto and a cck cleaver to arrive in the post to add to my collection, have an ok range, but only within the last few years been really interested in knives and sharpening, a lot of chefs think its weird i have 7 different grit stones and no steel.

About to head up a new 100 seater restaurant in march that my boss and current head chef are opening, Chinese style menu, will post some kitchen pics when built.

Also have worked as a personal chef, Larry Page being my most high profile client, pretty fun job.

Last edited:
welcome, can't wait to see were you end up going next with your knives.