Thread: Total Beginner / Noob

Question Total Beginner / Noob

What type of knife(s) do you think you want? Shun Santoku

Why is it being purchased? What, if anything, are you replacing? It would be a start to my first better knife set, but it would be replacing cheap throw away knives that ive collected over the years

What do you like and dislike about these qualities of your knives already?
    Aesthetics-
    Edge Quality/Retention-
    Ease of Use-
    Comfort-

What grip do you use? Grip? I've been playing with the pinch grip but haven't mastered anything

What kind of cutting motion do you use? chopping/rocking

Where do you store them? mag bar

Have you ever oiled a handle? nope

What kind of cutting board(s) do you use? Birch

For edge maintenance, do you use a strop, honing rod, pull through/other, or nothing? yup, cheap knives, so nothing

Have they ever been sharpened? ....should they have been?

What is your budget? 120-180

What do you cook and how often? I cook every night at home, but don't use knives for work

Special requests(Country of origin/type of wood/etc)? I would like to stick with the Santoku style as its going to be my only good knife for 6 months to a year, gonna build a set slowly but surely. Oh and I dislike how Global knifes feels in my hand, whereas the Shun is quite comfortable with its extremely oddly shaped handle.

Welcome aboard. Are u totally sold on Shun? on a Santoku? There are better knives for the money and a gyuto can do more for you. Of course u have to be happy and comfortable with the knife. Also on a long term thought, think about how u want to sharpen the knife u do get

I am not totally sold on shuns, no. I'll be honest I'm lazy and dont want a high maintenance knife.

I agree with Mingooch. Someone cannot buy a knife and not have a strategy for how to sharpen this new knive in the future.