Quantcast
Not asking what knife to buy :-)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Not asking what knife to buy :-)

Not asking what knife to buy :-)

Hi, I seem to have caught the Japanese knife bug. After reading up on the subject for the last few weeks I've decided that the real issue for me is whether I'm willing to maintain my knives properly. I've been cooking (at home) for over thirty years and haven't done a good job yet, so my willingness is a real concern!

My current thought is to get some stones and maybe a Chinese cleaver, switch to my (existing) IKEA wood cutting board, and concentrate on sharpening and maintaining the cleaver and my existing stainless knives (Tramontia, full bolster, generic knife set). Later on, my thought is to take a class on sharpening and pick up some fancier knives.

My question is: does this make sense, or am I likely to develop bad habits? After all, practice doesn't make perfect, it just makes permanent!

Jim

Greetings! Get some stones, watch Jon Broida's sharpening videos and practice...makes perfect sense. May want to stick with stainless though if you are not planning on high maintenance.
    one man gathers what another man spills...

Many are intimidated by sharpening. Basic sharpening is rather simple. It's all about the angle, and holding steady, with as little wobble as possible. Speed is not important. Style is not important.

Starting with a basic mid grit, and following the factory bevel shouldn't be beyond anyone capabilities. Once you can raise a nice burr consistently, more advanced techniques can be explored....
    The difference between try and triumph is a little "umph"! NO EXCUSES!!!!!!!
    chefchristophermiller@yahoo.com

Spokane, WA aka Spokanistan, or Spoklahoma, or...
    Quote Originally Posted by pentastich View Post