High Resolution Microscopy Images of Whole Knife

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarkoPende

Reaction score
I am a scientist with passion for microscopy. I've recently started collecting Japanese knives; my current collection consists of six knives which I recorded on a stereoscope. Please Zoom in and enjoy :)

Attachments

• Takeshi Saji-Summit.jpg
    14.5 MB · Views: 0
  • Nigara Anmon.jpg
    15.9 MB · Views: 0
  • Nigara Migaki Tsuchime.jpg
    12.9 MB · Views: 0
  • Mashasi.jpg
    14.4 MB · Views: 0
Enjoy I do. Would you explain how these images were made? It looks close to orthogonal, as if shot with a telephoto or orthographic lens, or using a scan-line camera?

Enjoy I do. Would you explain how these images were made? It looks close to orthogonal, as if shot with a telephoto or orthographic lens, or using a scan-line camera?
I attached two pictures of the set up I am using to record this pictures. As you can see they were recorded with a stereoscope. The lenses/objectives in micropy are a bit different then in photography. Regarding imaging direction. Yes these are many orthogonal pictures fused to one image. The microscope was not built to image objects of these size but since I built microscope I could just add to the existing travel stage from Zeiss an additional travel stage which enabled me to image the entire knife.

Attachments

• IMG_20240317_145212.jpg
    IMG_20240317_145212.jpg
    2.7 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_20240317_145232.jpg
    IMG_20240317_145232.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 0