180 - 200mm gyuto?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Is this a size you guys own, and if you do, do you reach for it? I don’t own anything in this range, and I was wondering if someone has one they love and get a lot of use out of. Thanks!

That’s interesting that you can comfortably bounce back and forth between drastically different sizes haha. I’m just a home cook, I usually use a 230 gyuto or a 180ish cleaver.

Aside from missing a 180-200 gyuto, I’m also missing a 270 lol. But idk how much use that would get in my kitchen.

What’s your go-to 180?

This probably won't help given the availability of the maker but I love my 170mm Bloodroot gyuto. I also have a 165mm Kintaro santoku from JKI (renamed Yoshimi Echizen apparently) that I like a lot as well.

I still reach for 210-240mm blades most often, but I like having the smaller choice if the task fits it better.

Haha sounds like you’re a lucky man! I would do terrible things for a bloodroot. I was considering grabbing a 180 in 52100 off shi-han’s website, or maybe trying to get a custom from someone.

I really like a 180 gyuto. I find them nimble and versatile. I can use them for petty-like tasks as well as full prep. I find the length is typically adequate for my ingredients and volumes.

Tadafusa:
V4YTqme.jpg

Hinokuni:
wVXmN3b.jpg

Akifusa:
DgIWoJE.jpg

I like 165's too but find 180 gives just that little bit more that it's noticeable. I like my 180's to be thin and slicey so for me a 210 is more of a heavy-tasker and I'm starting to wonder if, at least for me, it should be a 180 and 240 vs the more commonly advised 210 and 240.

Very nice! I like the look of the Akifusa.