Advice for sharpening accessories

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PC315

Reaction score
Hi
I'm just getting into sharpening and have started with a naniwa combi 1000/3000 stone and a cheap 400/1000 no-name from Amazon. Right now all my knives are stainless steel Zwilling and other generic knives. Will soon get the Watanabe Nakiri. I know the sharpening rabbit hole can go pretty deep so was curious what are some things that I should get?
  • Flattening stone vs nagura stone?
  • stropping block?
  • Any other stones I should add to complete the set?
  • Anything else?
Trying to not go out there buy everything.... any advice appreciated! Thanks!

For me, a flattening stone with the stones you already have feels sufficient. I usually just strop on the stone as well.

Atoma 140 diamond plate for flattening. I like a strop too, but it’s a separate thing to learn and not strictly necessary. You have a coarse, medium, and fine stone; use those, then find out what you don’t like or want to upgrade in each category.

Absolutely no need to go above 3000 for the stainless steel knives.

A flattening plate (Atoma, DMT, etc.) is useful, but not necessary. You can flatten a stone by rubbing it with another stone. Or find a nice smooth and flat bit of concrete or ceramic paving stone; check that it is flat with a straight edge, and use that to flatten your stones. Or stick a bit of 120-grit wet and dry sandpaper with a spray of water onto a smooth flat surface (sheet of glass, granite bench top, ceramic tile, aluminium plate, or similar) and rub the stone on the paper. It'll flatten just fine.

I have a few naguras, but haven't felt the need to use them. I get a slurry in short order on my stones without using a nagura first.