Advice Requested-Grilling Tuna Outdoors

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Looking for a little advice here...

I'm a lifelong apartment dweller, so I have limited experience with outdoor grilling. I'm going to Denver to make a rehearsal dinner for my nephew (Other - Post your Menus Here), his new wife and 60-70 of our nearest and dearest. Got some grill helpers who are loving and enthusiastic, nobody's a pro here.

I'm planning on making grilled tuna steaks. They seem easy to handle and are quick to cook. I wonder if I should put some grids from sheet pans on top of the grates of the grill to make the fish easier to handle? Also, (if the grid is a good idea) is it a good idea to take the grid off between batches and spray it with oil?

I think I'll get some slotted offset spatulas to work with the fish unless someone has a better idea.

Also, @Ochazuke got any great tips for miso marinated grilled tuna? If I did marinate the fish, should I serve it with a Mediterranean green sauce (charmoula) as well or is the miso enough flavor without any herbs on it.

Thanks all for any help you can offer!

IME the hotter the griddle is the easier the tuna comes off without remains staying on the griddle, no oil needed (iMO it'll only burn off). It's a lot like searing meat in a non stick pan, if the pan is hot and enough AND stays hot enough (aka does not cool down due to too much in it or too little energy going into it) the crust that forms will auto- release...touch it too early and it's a mess, wait too long and the pin stripes are charred a bit too much and the fish cooks on the inside, I tend to err on the charring side for fear of ruining the piece but I'm slowly getting there(hard to find really good tuna over here)

What I do looks a lot like this on a good day; Perfect Grilled Tuna – A Couple Cooks