Am I thinning it right?

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by Briochy, Jan 23, 2020.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Jan 23, 2020 #1

Briochy

Briochy

Briochy

I'm thinning my 240mm Watanabe Carbon gyuto. However, I'm pretty new to thinning. From this picture, can you tell me if I'm doing it right? I basically just try to lay it on the 'shinogi' plane of the knife (although not a well-defined one) and I just go up and down the blade. The 'shinogi' on this knife doesn't seem to be straight.

Attached Files:

2. Jan 23, 2020 #2

ma_sha1

ma_sha1

ma_sha1

Wow, what happened here? The Shinogi is super twisty

Briochy likes this.
  3. Jan 23, 2020 #3

Briochy

Briochy

Briochy

Right? I just laid it flat on like that and that's the area that touches the stone.

4. Jan 23, 2020 #4

McMan

McMan

McMan

The way I'm seeing the scratches in your photo, most of the thinning seems to be going on higher up the blade face. I'm not seeing many scratches right near the edge.
    Give the marker trick a try. This'll help you see where your scratches are.
    There's more than one type of thinning, too... (1) Thinning behind the edge and (2) general thinning.
    (1) You'll want to remove metal from as close to the edge as possible, as this is where the edge gets thicker over time due to repeated sharpenings. Think of this like maintenance thinning. Keep the spine off the stone.
    (2) This said, there's also nothing wrong going for much more aggressive: thinning--removing metal from behind the edge all the way up half (or two thirds) of the blade face, if you're trying to thin the knife out more in general. Basically lay the knife flat (or close to it) and see what's happening.

Regardless of what you're after, more scratches would help :)

This shows (1) Thinning behind the edge and (2) general thinning. Red lines help show angles.
    [​IMG]

YumYumSauce likes this.
  5. Jan 23, 2020 #5

J.C

J.C

J.C

Supporting Member