AS Core, SS Clad Laser Recommendations?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone, first post here! I was hoping to leverage your experience for a recommendation on some lasers. Here is the questionnaire filled out.

US (Seattle)

Knife Type

Hoping to find a matching set (240mm Gyuto and 150mmish Petty). Wa handle, flat belly profile, Aogami Super core (Or other similar steel?!), stainless clad, and of course I want them to be legit lasers. I am willing to go up to $250 for the Gyuto and $150 for the Petty. I am right handed.

Knife Use

I am a home cook who cooks roughly 7-10 times a week. These knives wouldn't likely be replacing anything but my current main knives are a K&S Tanaka Nashiji 240mm Gyuto and a K&S Tanaka Damascus 150mm Petty to give you an idea of what I am using. I like the Tanakas quite a bit, but I want something with a bit more of a flat profile and of course better/thinner grind. I exclusively use a pinch grip and like the balance point to be right on my index finger/thumb or slightly in front of them. I predominately use a push cut motion but I also chop occasionally.

Knife Maintenance

Over the past 10 months or so I have been working on my whetstone technique and will be sharpening the knives myself. I really enjoy sharpening and I think I have become decently proficient. I strop my knives on diamond paste loaded balsa wood strops once a week to maintain them until they need to hit the stones. I use an end grain hard wood cutting board and I store my knives on a bamboo magnetic knife strip on the wall.

So with all that being said I have been heavily interested in the Ikazuchi series from JKI but I am hoping that you guys can provide some other options as well that I can consider.

Thanks for your help!