Asking about Manaka Hamono knives performance

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi! Sorry for hijacking the thread, I'm just a newbie aswell. Got duped by the knife I bought last year. My fault for not double checking the knife. Thought it was a Japanese knife made in Japanese steel but nope just marketed as a Gyuto and I fell for it. Anyway while browsing diff kind of Bunkas I found Manaka-san makes ATS-34 Bunkas. Anyone owned them? And how are they compared to other Bunkas like the Shibata(SG2) and Raijin(cobalt)? Many thanks!

Last edited:
Hi! Sorry for hijacking the thread, I'm just a newbie aswell. Got duped by the knife I bought last year. My fault for not double checking the knife. Thought it was a Japanese knife made in Japanese steel but nope just marketed as a Gyuto and I fell for it. Anyway while browsing diff kind of Bunkas I found Manaka-san makes ATS-34 Bunkas. Anyone owned them? And how are they compared to other Bunkas like the Shibata(SG2) and Raijin(cobalt)? Many thanks!
I saw ATS Manaka, it's like looking at TF grind. that Wabi-sabi finish. high and low spot on the blade road that I don't recommend but this from the early 2020 batch. maybe he's getting better.

Hey everyone,