Breads Bavarian "Brezen" (Pretzels)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks mate. I appreciate the feedback.

I’ve got some finessing questions:

1) How thick should the “crust” be? I’m guessing that the combination of uncovered fridge time to try and harden the exterior for handling combined with the lye and magic water spray is contributing to get about 1mm of crust, which has a satisfying crack and crunch, but I’m aware is different to pretty much all shop bought brezen that I’ve ever tried, which have almost no crust at all, just a slightly coloured exterior and then basically bread all the way through. Given I have no experience of history in Bavarian, what is “normal”?
I’m just wondering if I’m fridge drying for a smidge too long or maybe water misting too much (just a single spray front and back)?

2) My sourdough starter for the preferment is rye based and much slower than many wheat starters that I’ve seen, but I do like the flavour. I tried prefermenting for 48 hours in this batch (kind of by accident), but it did seem to be a better overall flavour. I’m guessing the preferment is just there for flavour so dialling that in is more of a “your mileage may vary” sort of situation where I’ve just got to muck around and see what works best for what I’ve got?