Buffing/polishing compound recommendation

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yaniv18

Reaction score
Hey guys
Anybody have any recommendation for buffing/polishing compound for wood handle ?
Thanks !!!
yaniv.

Are you asking about a buffing lathe or by hand?

Hoss

White compound is the one most commonly used.

Hoss

I have typically used white compound as well. Depending on how fine a grit you used to finish sand, it usually brings out a decent shine. I have watched some YouTube videos where they first used white compound, then switched wheels and used a pink compound. It really took the shine to the next level. I have no experience with it yet.

Edit- I just went on Amazon and ordered it, so I will let you know how it performs

Last edited:
As a follow-up:

My no-scratch pink compound arrived yesterday. I had a couple of handles ready to buff, one was stabilized myrtle burl, the other stabilized cherry burl with copper spacers. They were sanded to 1000 grit and finished with Danish oil. I buffed them with white compound then I put a new sewn cotton wheel on the buffer, loaded it with the pink and went to town. Conclusion....the pink really made the metal spacers shine. but honestly, there was not a huge improvement on the stabilized wood. A little shinier, but the difference didnt really pop out. Like a dumbass, I failed to take before and after comparison pics.

White seems like plently.

As a follow-up: