Carbon knives and taste

Discussion in 'Whats Cooking? Food, Drink, & Gear' started by Dhoff, Feb 13, 2019.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Feb 13, 2019 #1

Dhoff

Dhoff

Dhoff

Is IT true carbon knives can make food, especially fruit, taste og metal?

2. Feb 13, 2019 #2

tgfencer

tgfencer

tgfencer

Supporting Member

Never experienced it. Certainly wouldn't happen on a knife with patina, I'd of thought, given the reactivity of the steel would be minimized. But I am no scientist.

3. Feb 13, 2019 #3

Dhoff

Dhoff

Dhoff

Im happy to hear that. I Saw a lot og threads on other forums stating problems

4. Feb 13, 2019 #4

podzap

podzap

podzap

Maybe if you left the carbon knife standing for a day inside a pot of acidic food. Brief contact, such as slicing a lemon, is not long enough to cause any reaction. Of course, if you don't actually wash your knives after use then they can taste like anything.

"Believe Nothing You Hear, and Only One Half That You See" - Edgar Allen Poe

5. Feb 13, 2019 #5

HRC_64

HRC_64

HRC_64

yes its true...problem is worse with reactive steels with more impurities

In japan they have e thing called "fruit knife" which is a stainless steel petty...
    for this very reason IIRC.

the acids in the fruit can react with sulfur for example, but even regular carbon steels
    depending on acidity vs delicateness of the fruit.

6. Feb 13, 2019 #6

HRC_64

HRC_64

HRC_64

Some people just cannot taste very well either... ;)

People will follow recipes that say "infuse the olive oil with crushed garlic"
    and then argue cutting endless aromatics on a wood board doesn't transfer flavours

not understandint that the board is coated itself in oil (mineral oil)
    and will absorb the flavours just like the recipe :eek:

(so this is why pastry chef won't let you prep on her boards)

7. Feb 13, 2019 #7

Ivang

Ivang

Ivang

Yup, they can react very strong to certain ingredients