Carbon steel knives problem

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Perzua

Reaction score
Hello,

I have a problem with my carbons. My first Japanese knive was JCK Natures Blue Moon Series BM-3 Wa Santoku 170mm & combo stone 1000/6000 also from JCK and that was a gamechanger but my other knives where really crap. Now I have Toyama petty and feels nice in hand. Im a serious home cook. To the point !

I cut 8 kg vegetables per week and carbos dull after this job (whipe often during tasks). On the other hand HAP40 is about month or more ! Maybe im doing something wrong ? I sharpen carbons on stones and powder steel knives on diamonds.

Other gear: Hasegawa, Ashi boards, JNS Aoto Matukusuyama, JNS 1000 Matukusuyama, JNS 300 Matukusuyama, JNS 6000 Matukusuyama

I stopped on Aoto and leather.

Please tell me it is normal or im doing someting wrong ? About 8 kg vegetables at home its too much ? I read somewhere (this forum) edge retention is marginal between carbons and powder steels.

Sorry for my language,
Lukas

Attachments

• 1618652938491.jpg
    1618652938491.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 55
  • 1618652938493.jpg
    1618652938493.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 56
My wild guess would be the board is a factor. But I don't know about your Ashi. When used with a synthetic board, my carbons suffer terribly. Excepted for a 64-65Rc Aogami Super with a very conservative edge.

My first guess would be that it sounds right, assuming the edge can be brought back by quick stropping on your highest grit.

My wild guess would be the board is a factor. But I don't know about your Ashi. When used with a synthetic board, my carbons suffer terribly. Excepted for a 64-65Rc Aogami Super with a very conservative edge.

I have oak board. I will try. Thanks you