Chosera 3000 vs Aizu pros and cons...Discuss

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brandon Wicks

AKA blwchef/crustychef
KKF Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am looking to replace my Aoto because it broke in half length wise down the middle. I managed to salvage half of it by flattening it but it's just not the same. It also has had some more pieces flake off of it. Anyway.

I've been thinking of replacing it with an Aizu mostly but the Chosera 3k is intriguing as well. I do plan on getting the Chosera 3k for home use eventually to replace some older worn out stones but I'm not in any rush. This purchase would be for work. I'm a sushi chef and use pretty much exclusively single bevel knives. My current set up is

Shapton Kuromaku 120
Chosera 800
Aoto 2500ish
Aiiwatani

DMT xc for flattening
DMT 1200 for slurry
Natural nagura for slurry

Work Kit:

Kitaoka Suminagashi 300mm Shiroko #2 Yanagi

Gesshin Uraku 270mm Kiritsuke Aoko #2 (on it’s way)

FuRinKaZan 240mm Mioroshi Deba Aoko #2

Tadafusa 180mm Hon Deba Shiroko #2

Kitaoka 180mm Funayuki Aoko #2

Watanabe 120mm Shiroko #2 Ajikiri

Fujiwara FKM 300mm Gyuto

Sakai Takayuki 210mm "honyaki" Shiroko #2 Gyuto

Most knives are only sharpened up to the Aoto. Occasionally I'll even stop at the 800 chosera for my debas if I'm pressed for time. My yanagi and new kiritsuke will finish on the Aiiwatani.
I'm open to other suggestions too. FYI I'm not interested in soakers just splash and go stones.

Oh yes. I’d like to hear more about this comparison myself.
I doubt this helps you very much but lately I’ve been enjoying finishing my suji and Petty w shapton Pro 2k which is a pretty cheap and fast cutting splash and go.