Creating a flat spot

Discussion in 'Sharpening Station' started by Newdent, Jul 12, 2019.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Jul 12, 2019 #1

Newdent

Newdent

Newdent

Hey guys

I just bought my first Japanese knife. I'm mostly happy with it but wish it had a flat for chopping, it's got a slight curve the whole way. It's 240mm and I'm hoping to try and flatten perhaps the first third near the heel, or maybe a touch more.

I'm new to everything, have only sharpened a knife on my stone once (1k/6k reversible). I was thinking I could possibly get some courser paper and flatten it on a glass cutting board my girlfriend uses (with her knives of course, my knife is going nowhere near that thing). Any tips would be great!

2. Jul 12, 2019 #2
    Maybe you could show us a photo of the blade profile on a cutting board against a bright background, so that we can a better idea about the profile of the cutting edge. My point is - a flat spot is not supposed to be perfectly flat, but if it is curved too much it can cause problems too.

3. Jul 12, 2019 #3

Newdent

Newdent

Newdent

Hey, of course. Not the best photo, sorry. I'm just having issues where it's not getting all the way through food when chopping, the food is staying attached slightly at the bottom. I never had this issue with my previous swiss knife that has a flat spot.

Attached Files:

4. Jul 12, 2019 #4
    My personal advice would be - if the knife does not work for you, than sell it and get a different one. It is apparently knife with a less pronounced flat spot. To change the profile will be a LOT of work that will require some experience to get it done right. Of course if it was not an expensive knife, then it may serve well to learn something new. If you do decide to give it a try be prepared that you will have to work on basically the whole blade, as changing just one part of the blade would create a 'shoulder' in the profile (at the place where you newly created flat spot would end)