Damasteel Chef knife, withdrawn for a while due to knife show

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Christian Trajkovski

Scaniansteel
Reaction score
My magnum opus as a knifemaker (at least at the moment). As a hobbyist I can put down extra time on each knife that I craft and I have spent the last three months crafting two chef knives, one which is for sale here.

Asking price: $699
Shipping: EU $10 rest of the world $20

I'm aware that there is a kind of "catch 22" present with buying an expensive knife from me, a knifemaker without an reputation like the pro makers on this forum. I therefore offer a "test period" to the buyer. Contact me within three days of delivery of the knife if you are not satisfied.

Conditions of return
Buyers are responsible for return shipping costs. If the item is not returned in its original condition, the buyer is responsible for any loss in value.

A "build log" of sorts is availiable here: https://www.kitchenknifeforums.com/threads/starting-up-a-new-project.39480/

IMG-2140.JPG

IMG-2072.JPG

Sales pitch:

This chef knife is handmade from Damsteel which is one of the premier "super steels", and the only super steel that comes in patterned varieties. The blade is ground full flat, hand polished to a mirror finish, etched in acid to bring out the pattern and then meticulously sharpened by hand.

The handle is made from stabilized Ambonya burl, hand formed to fit the blade and patterned to fit the thumb and forefinger of the hand holding the knife. The burl is absolutely stunning to behold and thanks to the stabilization able to stand the test of time together with the blade. The tang of the blade has as a last step been carefully etched to bring out the pattern of the steel even in the handle.

Delivered shaving sharp, video of the knife being tested after sharpening: