Edge dulling very quickly

Discussion in 'Sharpening Station' started by justin bray, Dec 30, 2018.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Dec 30, 2018 #1

justin bray

justin bray

justin bray

Hey there! I just bought a masakage Koishi AS Gyuto and I love it.

I am a professional cook in a high end Japanese restaurant so I need my knife sharp.

I Sharpen everyday, on a chosera 3k and a cerax 1000. I have built muscle memory and I can produce an edge that is sharp to pass the nail biting, paper cutting and hair shaving tests.

The problem I have is maintaining it. If I use the knife to do a few small tasks, nothing major or anything(cut onions on a poly board, slice meat), the knife no longer passes those tests, or it notably does worse.

The knife never gets really dull, but it definitely is sliding on my nail unless I use some pressure.

Is this normal? I would like an edge that could pass the fingernail tests after a day of light work. Is that not reasonable?

I am wondering if you guys had any idea on what a cause may be? If I barely touch up(3 strops) on a chosera 3k it then passes the fingernail test again, then will fail it after say slicing a few steaks or veg. It's so strange to me. Am I crazy?

Any help is appreciated! Thank you!

2. Dec 30, 2018 #2

Knife2meatu

Knife2meatu

Knife2meatu

You're most likely not deburring properly; and then you're presumably just re-sharpening that same wire-edge -- that all at once explains the a) high initial sharpness; b) poor edge retention; c) easy re-"sharpening".

You can test for the wire edge easily by gently pressing the flat of your fingernail against the side of the edge: this allows you to deflect the edge slightly to check for thinness; a foil edge offers virtually no resistance to the lateral push.

3. Dec 30, 2018 #3

refcast

refcast

refcast