Electric sharpener vs stones pics

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Delat

Dazed & Confused
KKF Supporting Member
Reaction score
@ModRQC in another thread said German knives are good for sharpening practice, so I took that as my cue for today’s practice session. For reference I had been using an electric knife sharpener on my Wusthofs for about 20 years (Chef’s Choice brand). The sharpener actually works pretty well and hasn’t removed a significant amount of metal, and gets knives sharp enough to cut paper albeit with a coarse feel. Also I got tired of using a loupe, so I got myself a freestanding magnifying glass. Big magnifying glass = photo-op.

Probably goes without saying, but I consider myself a total noob. Here’s the Wusthof’s edge from the electric sharpener; it’s CrMoV steel.
2D18C3E4-FF35-4CDC-B893-3F8C4A64B8EC.jpeg

I thought I might need to use my shapton glass SG500, but decided to start with the SG1000. Below is a pic after just a few minutes on the 1k with hardly any pressure, it’s crazy how much smoother it got with very little effort. Sharpening was super fast compared to my old VG10 Shun. Not that the Shun is a PITA, but it does take quite a bit longer than the soft CrMoV. As a beginner I’m pretty happy that I nailed the bevel right off the bat, although on closer inspection I was a little less than perfect on the initial curve of the belly and there’s a little wave or two from the electric sharpener that I didn’t get out.
20DF5EED-F6F2-4FED-83D3-6FC5FB71E979.jpeg

Based on advice from this forum I stopped there, stropped it, and called it a day. It’s reasonably smooth through paper now.