Experience with Raquin knives

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sharptools

Reaction score
Does anyone have experience with his knives? MastrAndre has favorable opinions of his bunka. There's an older thread but there's not too much info.

I had a sujihiki that I sold but wish I didn't. I seem to do that a lot. I loved the knife it was one of my favorite sujihikis. Nice grind, sharpens easily, thin at the edge but not fragile. The only thing that was lacking a bit was the handle but I have no problem based on my experience recommending his work. Don't know the prices these days but the 300mm sujihiki was very reasonable.

This sounds awesome. Overall just very positive things. Handle shouldn't be an issue as I just picked up one that has one of icanhaschzbrgr's handles on it. Now it is just the waiting game...would appreciate any additional info on the knives if any. The 145sc core steel is just so interesting to me. I just couldn't resist.

My 290mm Gyuto with his Kiritsuke style profile is my favorite Salmon paring knife! Very good one! responds very good too sharpening steels of good quality (Dickoron)..

I think it is quite reactive, but not as much as japanese San Mai knives...

Greets Sebastian.

I should have gotten one when I first saw his, when there was on actually available on his website. I just asked him again and his book is closed for the time being, to catch up.

I'll be one of the first on it when it opens back up.

I have very positive opinions on the gyuto as well:

29541458bj.jpg

Here the 3rd from left.
One of my best gyutos ever. Very sharp, and an edge retention far above similar knives I own!
Bryan's knives have only one kind of problem: they are to hard to catch!

Cheers
Andre

29541458bj.jpg

Here the 3rd from left.
One of my best gyutos ever. Very sharp, and an edge retention far above similar knives I own!

Cheers