First "good" knife -- but what to get?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alexrk

Reaction score
Hi all. New member here, I'm a home cook and I've been wanting for a while to take I guess the next step up from my Wusthof Classic. Looking for something that will perform better but also honestly just look and feel cooler and more special even when I'm using it as an everyday knife. Because my sharpening skills are just barely more than non-existent I'm trying to cap my budget at $300 or less. Had been figuring on getting a Kramer Zwilling just because it was the thing I was aware of, plus of course some of them look cool as hell. But with that budget, and not having had a carbon steel before, I'd likely just get the plain stainless, which seems... fine? But just that.

Looking for reviews of it I found this board and others and have been checking out that whole world of sub-$300 knives out there and now I think the Kramer's the wrong choice but honestly don't know, and if it is I don't know what to choose beyond that, so looking for some help.

Filled out the questionnaire below too but some of the issue at this point is I don't think I know what I want.