First Honyaki?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Froztitanz

Reaction score
Hello from Singapore! I'm a new kitchen knife collector, looking to collect and even possibly use my first honyaki gyuto. I've been collecting folding knives for about 5 years now and have decided to shift more to kitchen knives this year.

Seeing as this is a long (ahem, never ending) rabbit hole... Are there any honyaki gyutos that are highly recommended?

I'll also be travelling to Japan (Kanazawa,Nagano, Toyama, Tokyo) this year, so if you have any recommendations from makers there as well, it would be wonderful.

Some makers I'm considering are:
Hanaki (Sukenari honyaki blade maker)
Kenichi Shiraki
Yoshikazu Ikeda

I heard Shiraki has retired from knifeknifemaking.

Ill Be getting My first honyaki from Ikeda in few months. Excepting that More than Any other knife purchase.

Ill Be getting My first honyaki from Ikeda in few months. Excepting that More than Any other knife purchase.

Wow. . That must be amazing. What type of honyaki is it gonna be? How did you even get on his books?

Following this thread because I’m also curious about the different honyakis and hope to get one!

I started down this road maybe 6-7 months ago, and I have three now. A shiraki, a Y. Ikeda , and a T. ikeda. The Y ikeda is the Shiro 3 and gets used the most. It gets crazy sharp easily and cuts better than the grind would suggest. I’d easily recommend an ikeda as your entry ticket and they are readily available through many retailers.

Yep, Shiraki hamono still is making knives, however, it’s unclear who is actually the smith nowadays. Several apprentices work under Shiraki guidance.

I’m waiting for my first Ikeda. 10 months in and hope it’s coming soon.

-Yoshikazu Ikeda is ALWAYS a great way to go! Bernal Cutlery in the U.S. has some new ones they just got in stock. Highly recommend.