First Knife Purchase Experience (MCUSTA Zanmai Type R 210mm Gyuto)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Star

Reaction score
I want to share my experience purchasing my first Japanese knife - MCUSTA Zanmai Type R 210mm Gyuto. Because I am a newbie newbie when it comes to kitchen knives of any type take the post below with a pinch of salt. :)

Prior to my purchase I did do some 'Google-ing' on the type of J knife, brand and etc. What consistently appeared in forums what the cult status of the Konosuke HD/HD2. I thought this was going to be the one but noted the difficulty to find one to purchase due to high global demand and low supply.

I ventured down to Japanese Knife store where the salesman gave me to try Gyuto knives listed below, a cutting board, and a carrot.

Konosuke GS 210mm
Konosuke HD2 240mm
MCUSTA Zanmai Type R 210mm Gyuto

What I found was a slightly smoother and buttery cut of the carrot by MCUSTA compared to either Konosuke's. The salesman suggested this was because of the powdered metal finish which made it 'less stick'y??. I also found for me the slightly heavier weight of the MCUSTA more favourable than the legendary lightness of the Konosuke's. Additionally I found the twisted handle super comfortable. Overall the MCUSTA felt like more of a natural extension of my hand over the Konosuke's which made the decision easy for me.

I have had the knife for a week now and I have cut vegetables with ease. No more tears from cutting an onion with a blunt knife - the MCUSTA slices through the onion like nothing. I didn't realise how much more a proper knife makes cutting and cooking enjoyable.