Hello and intro

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HSC /// Knives

KKF Supporting Craftsman
Reaction score
Hello, here's some info about me, probably more than you wanted to know :D

My name is Harbeer Chahal and I’m a full time maker in Clarkdale AZ, about 25 mins from Sedona AZ. My training and experience is in Japanese laminated steels with high carbon steel cores.

My background is in manufacturing engineering and operations management. Years ago I was an autoCAD draftsman, CAD/CAM programmer and managed aerospace CNC machine shops as well as ISO 9000/AS9100 quality management. I’ve also owned and operated auto collision shops for a few years.

I began this journey into knife-making buying buying/selling/collecting custom knives. With help from a few makers in 2015 I gained the confidence to try my own hand at this craft. I'm grateful to several Masters I’ve learned from for their guidance and most important, their time and knowledge. I’ve traveled the country learning from them.

Specifically I’m a student of Murray Carter, I spent a total of 9 days in his shop learning bladesmithing. I learned handles and guards from James Rodebaugh and slipjoints from Mike Vagnino.

I was born in London England, have lived in India as a small child, Toronto CA and most of my life in the Los Angeles area. Almost a year ago I moved to the Verde Vally area of Arizona. A small town where life seems much simpler. I have 2 kids, 22 and 16

I appreciate high carbon steels. They can take a keen edge well, are easy to sharpen and age with character. My goal is to make the customer a high quality knife that they enjoy using. I forge and heat treat each blade myself in my shop. The heat treat process is what I enjoy the most.