Hello from Portugal

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LuisMendes

Reaction score
Hi there guys !! I'm a brazilian home cook, born in São Paulo, that lives in Oporto, Portugal. My knifes are:

- Lots of portuguese knifes (IVO and ICEL). Nice knives, most with german like profile but for 1/5 the price. I really recommend them.
- K Sabatier 9" carbon chef knife
- Masakage Yuki Nakiri
- Masakage Shimo Gyuto

Unfortunately, Japanese knives are not easy to find in Europe, and buying from US sites would have really high taxes.

Bom Dia Luis!
Would love to see some pictures of your knives, especially the Portuguese made ones.

Sure knyfeknerd, those are the portuguese

XSCRuPK.jpg

From top to bottom:

ICEL Platina series 20cm chef knife
IVO Asian style knife, it's supposed to be a guyto.. but you can think of it as an oversized Deba (single bevel, and thick)
IVO Paring knife
IVO bread knife

Mucho Bocho, Bill. Thanks!! I'll have some Madeira for us!! It's been a long time since I had a good Madeira wine.. Just some cheaper for cooking.

Marcelo, I was looking at the links you sent me, I'm thinking about buying the Itinomonn 210 stainless gyuto from JNS store. For those situations when you don't want to be so attentious to your knife and clean it every minute (churrasco!!!). But not this month, because the budget is already closed ;). I'm looking at the alternatives and so far the Itinommon looks great for that use