Hello from Quebec, Canada

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PotterMcMuck

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm just getting started down the path of kitchen knives. I've always liked cooking but until recently I never really paid much attention to the tools I was using. I'm a straight razor guy, and have been into sharpening those for a few years now, so I had the whetstones already. Then I started sharpening our kitchen knives more frequently, and in learning to do so I got totally hooked and am now obsessed with keeping everything super sharp. I just bought my first high-end Japanese knife (a nakiri style in blue #2 carbon steel - amazing!), and it's a joy to use. I already have my next knife picked out, but it will need to wait a little while until I have the money to spend.

I'm also very curious about the knife-making process, especially the Japanese style. Eventually, I'd like to learn how to do this myself, but that will necessarily be a few years down the road.

I'm looking forward to learning lots more about kitchen knives!!

Joel

Welcome to the forums Joel.

Which nakiri did you buy?

Which is the next knife you have decided on. Do we get to help you choose?

Which stones do you use for razors? I ssuspect that you will find that kitchen knifes need lower grits and are uch more tolerant of high gaps between grits than razors are.

Welcome to the forums Joel.

Which nakiri did you buy?

Which is the next knife you have decided on. Do we get to help you choose?

Which stones do you use for razors? I ssuspect that you will find that kitchen knifes need lower grits and are uch more tolerant of high gaps between grits than razors are.

Here's a photo of what I bought. It was labelled as a NOS Suisin, although I have no way to prove or disprove this. It was super easy to put a laser edge on it, though, and it's a joy to use!