Help choosing first high quality stone set! (EU Buyer)

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zatowashi

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Firstly just wanted to thank all the kind souls for the guidance I've received on this forum so far. I'm quite new to this hobby and my first knives are a Kurosaki R2 210mm Shizuku gyuto and a Tanaka Ginsan 150mm petty. Thinking to add some carbon knives to my collection but I need build out my sharpening setup. I have a cheap BearMoo Amazon stone (1k/4k combo) which I've managed to put edges on my old Western knives with. I assume it's too soft for the R2 steel but also I want proper stones to learn on.

So I'm thinking of Naniwa Professional (Chosera) 400/1000/3000 from K&T (Euro seller)
Or a Suehiro Cerax 320/1000/6000 from an EU site. (With a view that the 6k will be more like the Naniwa 3k in reality)

I'm not really set on splash'n'go stones as I enjoy sharpening, taking time is less of problem than having good stones to learn on. What I'm looking for is a solid choice of 3 or 4 stones that are high enough quality to keep but not super difficult to work with (I heard Shapton glass for example is better for experienced sharpeners).

My top budget is around £200, but if I could solve it for less I would have more towards my next knives!

Apologies if I missed a sticky with a guide on this - but if there isn't one I think it would be great if there was some recommended stones!

Thanks in advance!

When I was in the same situation as you (also EU) I got a Shapton Glass 320, JNS 1000 and JNS 6000 and they've served me extremely well.

When I was in the same situation as you (also EU) I got a Shapton Glass 320, JNS 1000 and JNS 6000 and they've served me extremely well.