hi from Melbourne

Discussion in 'New Member Check-In' started by gollux, Jan 7, 2020.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Jan 7, 2020 #1

gollux

gollux

gollux

I've been learning about knives and sharpening for a few years now, but I'm still figuring it out.

I have a couple Tojiro VG10 knives, but I'm thinking of getting a better knife soon - and would be grateful for any advice. I'm also looking to improve my sharpening technique: I use an Edge Pro Apex with Shapton Glass stones, but some aspects of my technique (e.g. deburring) definitely need work.

I'm looking forward to getting more involved in this great community!

2. Jan 7, 2020 #2
    Welcome to the forum

3. Jan 7, 2020 #3

J.C

J.C

J.C

Supporting Member

Welcome mate

4. Jan 7, 2020 #4

gollux

gollux

gollux

5. Jan 8, 2020 #5

Marek07

Marek07

Marek07

Supporting Member

G'day and welcome to the forum. Fellow Melbournian here. :)

gollux likes this.
  6. Jan 8, 2020 #6

crocca86

crocca86

crocca86

Hi from Sydney ​

7. Jan 8, 2020 #7

gollux

gollux

gollux

Cheers, both! I hope the smoke isn't too bad where you are.

8. Jan 8, 2020 #8

Nemo

Nemo

Nemo

Staff Member Global Moderators

Welcome to the forums.

I think that smoke has been a problem all up and down the eastern seaboard (south of Brissie, at least). I'm told (by those who have been there) that it's much worse in the actual firegrounds though. Big shout out to all those (mainly unpaid volunteer) fireies (firefighters) fighting those mega blazes.

9. Jan 8, 2020 #9

gollux

gollux

gollux

Agreed. It's a heroic response to a tragic situation.

10. Jan 8, 2020 #10

LucasFur

LucasFur

LucasFur

I just did a vacation in sydney ... didnt even notice the fires. my hotel in blue mountains did cancel on me.
    -----------------------------------------
    Was the city empty because everybody was out fighting the fires?