How many pros here use all of their knives at work?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jeffrey Kramb

Reaction score
As a pro, I hate the idea of buying a knife that doesn't see real work. Currently at work I use Watanabe 165 Nakiri, Konosuke MM 210 Gyuto, Moritaka 150 Honesuki and Mizuno Tanranjo Akitada Santoku (for line use). Planning to get a fujiyama and a few other higher end knives which I will also take to work. How about everyone here? Do you take all your good stuff to work?

I have a big Husky tool chest at work. I have way too many knives, but make a point to try and rotate them, and use each specialty knife when the chore arises. Having numerous gyutos affords me to not have to sharpen but every month or two. But sharpening day can literally be a day.

I use a gyuto and a petty at work. Before I used to use yanagi for sashimi and suji for slicing tataki. The rest of th knives stay at home and they see use for me and my partner meals.

Samesies. I rotate fairly often. There’s definitely a couple that don’t get used as much as others. Not for any specific reason. Maybe because they’re “nicer” than others. But they all get used

Samesies. I rotate fairly often. There’s definitely a couple that don’t get used as much as others. Not for any specific reason. Maybe because they’re “nicer” than others. But they all get used
Agreed

I have used every knife I’ve owned at work. Some don’t get used much more than a couple times and those get sold towards something I’ll rotate in more. The two exceptions are my usuba - haven’t had much use for it any of the places I’ve worked, but I’m keeping it to mess around with at home and I’ve destroyed the resale value anyway while learning about those knives - and my 3” paring knife, though the latter might prove well suited to something in the future.