I’m ready to get a quality chef’s knife. Wisdom please?

Discussion in 'The Kitchen Knife' started by Et Vinum Carnis, Jul 10, 2018 at 2:33 PM.

1. Jul 10, 2018 at 2:33 PM #1

Et Vinum Carnis

Et Vinum Carnis

Et Vinum Carnis

I tried to add explanations where they might be helpful.

KNIFE TYPE

What type of knife are you interested in? chef’s knife

Are you right or left handed? Right handed

Are you interested in a Western handle or Japanese handle? Probably not the most important criterion for me. I’m a home cook without knife training, and the “hook” just makes it feel familiar, but maybe that’s essentially just a set of training wheels that can come off at some point.

What length of knife are you interested in? 8” is familiar to me. Anything longer would feel unwieldy without a lot of practice. My hands are small. I wonder if shorter than 8” would be a good idea, as in more maneuverable and manageable.

Do you require a stainless knife? Yes, I assume, because I’m a home cook and want to minimize upkeep effort.

What is your absolute maximum budget for your knife? $150 +maybe another 20% if it makes a big difference

KNIFE USE

Primary use environment? Home

Main tasks? Slicing then chopping veggies; slicing meats (dividing a raw flank steak, slicing a roasted pork loin); trimming the fat and gristle from the edges of meats; breaking down a roasted chicken; occasionally mincing garlic, celery, and onions. I won’t use it for filleting fish or cutting bone.

What knife, if any, are you replacing? An unimpressive Calphalon 8” chef’s knife. Part of our 8-year-old knife block wedding present.

Do you have a particular grip that you primarily use? Finger Point, all the way. The Pinch Grip feels unsafe (probably because I’ve been using dull knives), and the Hammer Grip feels uncontrolled.

What cutting motions do you primarily use? Rocking 80%, Slicing 18%, and Walking 2%.