Is Wicked Edge a good solution for maintaining sharpness?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

First off, a little about me. I am fairly new to my knife obsession/collecting, so when I started buying nicer knives, the thought of using a water stone was terrifying. I had a few beaters that I laid down on the stone in my first few attempts, so it didn't take me long to start to look into alternative methods of sharpening where there wasn't such a learning curve and significant risk of damaging a knife in the process.

In comes the Wicked Edge setup. I purchased the Gen 3, and have used it since. I now have a very large collection of customs, some being rather pricey, and I have sharpened pretty much all of them at least once on this system. Brought to a half micron with my finest stones. The result, when done properly, is hard to dispute. I know that most makers aren't necessarily known for their OTB sharpness, but I always end up getting any knife I get sharper than when I got it.

I can't shake this feeling that I'm taking the easy way out though. I have told myself that I can control my angle better, and therefore remove less metal every sharpening, therefore prolonging the life of all my knives. I do know that there is different geometry to knife edges though, and I am fairly limited with what I can do in that regard.

So, in conclusion... Should I be putting earnest effort into learning to sharpen freehand? Are there significant benefits that outweigh the toil of learning a new skill when I have a proven method that seems to work?

Thank you for any help you can give this novice knife owner.

If what you're doing is working for you, you certainly don't have to learn the freehand sharpening skill. I do think it's a rewarding skill to have in your pocket. I even find it recreational.