Quantcast

Issues with Mac?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

monty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
146
Reaction score
1
I am noticing that when IO access the forum from my work computer (PC) I never have a problem getting on. At home, where I use a Mac, I'm almost always told that Safari can find the page. Does this make any sense? Am I doing something wrong, or is this a Mac issue?
 

Dave Martell

Forum Founder
Professional Craftsman
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
14,025
Reaction score
847
Location
Airville, PA
This is way out of my league to answer. I'll note it and see what I can find. Thanks for reporting it.
 

Pensacola Tiger

Founding Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
5,834
Reaction score
118
I've a Mac, and no issues. As noted in other threads, it may be a DNS issue, especially considering that you are using two different environments at work and home. The DNS your home ISP is using may not be updated for Dave's website. Try OpenDNS (it's what I use at home). http://www.opendns.com/
 

monty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
146
Reaction score
1
I've a Mac, and no issues. As noted in other threads, it may be a DNS issue, especially considering that you are using two different environments at work and home. The DNS your home ISP is using may not be updated for Dave's website. Try OpenDNS (it's what I use at home). http://www.opendns.com/
Great. Thanks!
 

JeffS

Active Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
One fairly quick way to check if its a dns problem is to do a nslookup of the site.

On a Mac:

Launch the Network Utility (under applications/utilities).
Click the Lookup tab.
Where it says Please enter an internet address to lookup, enter www.kitchenknifeforums.com
Under Select the information to lookup, pick Default Information.
Uncheck use dig in place of nslookup.
Click Lookup.
This will show the IP address your dns is showing for www.kitchenknifeforums.com It should be 64.57.218.150

If its not then your DNS hasn't updated yet and using opendns might be a good option (arguably a good option instead of your ISP's dns but I won't go into the the technical mumbo jumbo =)

You can also try a ping under the network utility to see if you can actually reach the server.
 
Last edited:

mr drinky

Founding Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
3,544
Reaction score
13
I use Mac and I am still having problems. I am going to try the DNS and the tips here.

k.
 

Pensacola Tiger

Founding Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
5,834
Reaction score
118
One fairly quick way to check if its a dns problem is to do a nslookup of the site.

On a Mac:

Launch the Network Utility (under applications/utilities).
Click the Lookup tab.
Where it says Please enter an internet address to lookup, enter www.kitchenknifeforums.com
Under Select the information to lookup, pick Default Information.
Uncheck use dig in place of nslookup.
Click Lookup.
This will show the IP address your dns is showing for www.kitchenknifeforums.com It should be 64.57.218.150

If its not then your DNS hasn't updated yet and using opendns might be a good option (arguably a good option instead of your ISP's dns but I won't go into the the technical mumbo jumbo =)

You can also try a ping under the network utility to see if you can actually reach the server.
Nice detailed explanation for our Apple using members having problems.

Thanks for filling in the gaps in my rather terse suggestion to "use OpenDNS".
 

hien

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
36
Reaction score
6
i am using macbook. it's okae. but if i am using ipad, it's a blank web.
 

Dave Martell

Forum Founder
Professional Craftsman
Joined
Feb 27, 2011
Messages
14,025
Reaction score
847
Location
Airville, PA
This is weird, some people are OK with MAC other not and then some OK with IPad and other not.
 

hien

Active Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
36
Reaction score
6
you might consider changing theme, that might fix yr problem. sometimes, these themes r not very well code or cross platform.
 

JeffS

Active Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
Nice detailed explanation for our Apple using members having problems.

Thanks for filling in the gaps in my rather terse suggestion to "use OpenDNS".
Thought it might help :) I'm always a little surprised to see how many computer people seem to have the knife bug.
 

mr drinky

Founding Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
3,544
Reaction score
13
This is weird, some people are OK with MAC other not and then some OK with IPad and other not.
Correction. I fired up an old pc and that also has trouble loading. I am going the OpenDNS route instead. Hopefully that works.

k.
 

sw2geeks

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
577
Reaction score
1
Big Mac user here. Every thing looks fine on both my home & work Mac. Looks fine on my iPad too.
 

monty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
146
Reaction score
1
Here's what I'm experiencing now that I have several days of the same behavior. I can't access KNF in the evening through around 9 in the morning if I'm at home on my mac. During the day everything is good to go. I can access all my other forums during that time, this is the only one my browser says it can't find. And only during those times. Wierd!
 

la2tokyo

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
67
Reaction score
2
I'm on a Mac and I've had some minor issues. Most of them seem to go away if I delete cookies and restart my browser. I'm using Firefox.
 

monty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
146
Reaction score
1
Frustrating! Now I can't open KNF on my mac at all. I walked across the street to my wife's computer - no problem. I'm going to give the DNS stuff a shot when I get back home.
 

FryBoy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
236
Reaction score
0
Had similar problems from 8:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. today -- and I'm running a PC under Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit with FireFox 3.6.14 and a 30mbps cable connection. I kept getting messages that the www.kitchenknifeforums.com server could not be found -- and then it suddenly began working again. Go figure!
 

monty

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
146
Reaction score
1
Had similar problems from 8:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. today -- and I'm running a PC under Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit with FireFox 3.6.14 and a 30mbps cable connection. I kept getting messages that the www.kitchenknifeforums.com server could not be found -- and then it suddenly began working again. Go figure!
That's what happens with me. I tried the DNS thing Jeff mentioned and it cam back with a message indicating that it could not find the forum. I didn't want to download open dns because I really don't understand what it is. Now, I'm on with no problems. Oh well, maybe this will just be a way to keep me off the computer :)
 
Top