Japanese knives can you evaluate the type of steel visually?

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Odissea/1978

Reaction score
Hi everyone, can someone explain to me how the steels on Japanese knives are visually distinguished?
I have been restoring straight razors for a few years now and now I would like to start with knives; I find it very difficult especially on auction sites to be able to understand what is quality and what is not, given that I have "studied" the kanji of the most famous producers to try to orient myself.

the question of steel, however, remains even more difficult for me to understand, the only distinction I understood is Honyaky and laminate and here we are.

thanks to whoever wants to help me :)

It’s generally impossible to identify steel type from pics. You can distinguish san mai (or more general laminated constructions) from monosteel by the lamination line, you can often distinguish monosteel from honyaki (monosteel heat treated so the spine is softer than the edge) by the presence of a hamon (an often wavy line higher up the blade that is the boundary between hard and soft steel), and you can distinguish carbon steel from stainless if it has a patina, but not otherwise. If you can read kanji, once in a while it’ll actually say the steel type.

Usually one tries to distinguish quality knives from bad knives by looking at other features of its construction, but that’s kinda hit and miss. Maybe if you post some examples here people can chime in with “crap” or “not crap”.