Looking for a rough stone—what's your fave?

Discussion in 'Sharpening Station' started by DitmasPork, Dec 27, 2018.

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums by donating:

1. Dec 27, 2018 #1

DitmasPork

DitmasPork

DitmasPork

I've been acquiring J-knives for about 6 years, but have a very limited set of stones. I've gotten by with just a Bester 1200, Shapton Pro 1500, and a Gesshin 6000.

I'm now looking to get a rough stone. Apologies, too lazy to comb through past threads where I'm sure the subject's well covered.

These two below are on my radar—opinions? Are there others I should consider? I know the SG is splash and go.
    Gesshin 400
    Shapton Glass 500

Mucho Bocho likes this.
  2. Dec 28, 2018 #2

Cashn

Cashn

Cashn

Can’t comment on anything else because I started with a Shapton glass 500 and never saw a reason to get anything else in that grit level. Doesn’t have a nice sound or feel but it does work and doesn’t load up.

3. Dec 28, 2018 #3

labor of love

labor of love

labor of love

Ditmas, do you want the low grit stone for thinning or sharpening the edge? Or a little of both?

4. Dec 28, 2018 #4

LucasFur

LucasFur

LucasFur

DP,
    Shapton Pro 120 ... too Glassy for Hard steel, doesn't release enough particle .... i hear this is only good for soft steel /// Ive been using to thin a blue 1 honyaki and its not the best.
    Norton 220 -- what ive been using the most for a thinning job on that blue 1 honyaki .... im using the stone on its side to prolong the life ... it has about 15 hours in it before there is nothing left ... i know because im at just over 11 hours of rubbing
    DMT st0ne -- have 2 but both are pretty dead ... got them for stone flattening. they work faster but i think they only have 1 or two major thinnings in them
    ATOMA stone ... lasts longer than DMT ... Still 2-3 thinnings.
    Chosera 400 -- its fast and works well ... I HATE the base on it. probably my most versatile stone. pro version is the same with no base.