Looking for good pulled pork recipes. Help please!

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mingooch

Reaction score
I need them to be low carb with no sugar/mollases based stuff in them for a diabetic friend. Hoping to find some great ideas, maybe some mustard based sauces? Any and all ideas are appreciated.

Will be grilling pork shoulder for this, but can cook other ways like slow cooker, crock pot, over, etc if someone's recipe thinks it is better that way.

Thank you,

Chris

My personal opinion would be to add a rub to the shoulder, then smoke it low and slow for 8-12 hours. You won't even need a sauce to go with it if you don't want, and just pair it up with some cole slaw. The rub will most likely have some sugar in it, though roughly 2-5 tablespoons of sugar for a 10 lb. shoulder shouldn't be horrible for even a diabetic, though I'm no expert when it comes to that. Otherwise, just cut out the sugar in the rub, and do a spice mix. Currently my rub goes along the lines of:

5 tablespoons of brown sugar
4 tablespoons of any type of chili powder
1 tablespoon each of coriander and cumin
1 tablespoon of garlic powder
and just enough salt in the mix to when you dip a wet finger in to taste, it doesn't scream salt, but accentuates all the flavors.