Makoto Kurosaki

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I don't know about his SG2 but I had one of his 240 W#2 gyutos and was very impressed.

i know ck2gg had a pass around and people wrote a few reviews on them. iirc fit/finish ranged from ok to good, performance had no complaints,

I actually just got the 210mm yesterday and I've made dinner for two days so I can't really speak about longevity much and I'm only a home cook. However, I've got to say the fit and finish on mine was excellent, the cherry ferrule/maple handle feels amazing(and looks great), and the choil and spine are smoothed out perfectly. It was my first laserish knife and compared to a Masamoto VG it blows it out of the water. The OOTB edge was shaving sharp and it still feels great. I especially like how it's a touch taller than a lot of gyutos I've tried so it feels solid while still being really light. I'd definitely recommend.

P.S. if you want to see pics I posted in the newest knife buy thread yesterday. Happy shopping!

Makoto has excellent grinds on his knives that are pure performance driven. He has been a big influence on Yu, who now has grinds on his knives very similar to Makoto.

I'm itching to try a Makoto. I've only seen rave reviews... Andrew, do you have a weight?

Makoto has excellent grinds on his knives that are pure performance driven. He has been a big influence on Yu, who now has grinds on his knives very similar to Makoto.
They produce similar grinds. I haven’t tried Yu’s work, but it’s on my list. Makoto is the older brother and spent years apprenticing while Yu was making a name for himself in the commercial world.

Here is the knife, brand new, before a passaround.

https://www.instagram.com/p/Bj0QbdzFn7S/?utm_source=ig_share_sheet&igshid=171jt0vb1c6x8

I have replaced the handle, nothing wrong with the stock handle.