My first knife

Kitchen Knife Forums

Help Support Kitchen Knife Forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AB blades

@abblades
KKF Supporting Craftsman
KKF Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone

Making my first knife , its a honesuki from 1.1274/ 1095 steel , double bevel , 160x45x3 mm
I plan to sharpen it like wide bevel knife

any opinions/suggestions? It still not heat treated
2C0B0ECB-AFB7-490E-AA4B-10F9B5ECFCEA.jpeg
9605738E-C41E-4319-AD17-FF1C9AD3D823.jpeg
CC8854D2-DE80-4A55-919D-E9790084A25D.jpeg

thanks
Andrei

Congratulations Andrei, it feels good doesn’t it? I also used 1095 for my first knife but much thinner stock. I’m pretty new at this myself so someone else would be better for advice. Just keep on making them and you will learn a lot.

Take care,

Greg

Congratulations Andrei, it feels good doesn’t it? I also used 1095 for my first knife but much thinner stock. I’m pretty new at this myself so someone else would be better for advice. Just keep on making them and you will learn a lot.

Take care,

Greg

Thank you Greg, its feel really good,
I want to ask you, what kind of knife you make from these Steel (1095) ?
Just thinking about next knife, much thinner and bigger

7BDDA2B0-5A8F-43B7-960E-C10A7CA449C6.jpeg
9A1C1209-D21F-4DB3-BAE0-2E0970B3E5EB.jpeg
I’m making Santoku chefs knives using 1/16” or .064 thick 1095. I built a propane forge for heat treat which works well with that steel.

Looks good so far. IMHO, thickness of the knife depends on intended use and performance as well as other characteristics like length, type of grind, distal taper (or lack thereof), etcetera.

I know some makers like very thin spine like the 1/16" that @gregfisk posted above, but not me, just my personal preference based on how I like to distal taper and grind the bevels. The thinner knife has less meat to grind convexity into the blade road.